Celebrating the Life of Austin


im freeI sat down at my computer to write an “In Memoriam” for Austin, and I immediately realised that I could not do it!

Although I did not know Austin personally, I, like every other Team LFCT member and many others, have followed his progress narrowly since the day he became a Little Fighter, and the one thing that struck me was the positivity and grace with which Austin handled his cancer.

I was looking back through his FaceBook Page earlier and could not help but smile…

Austin was a charmer; his positivity literally shone out of the page on every photo… A Charming, Gentle, Smiling, Brave Warrior.

Every post on his page by his family is positive, even if the news was not that great, and it is because of this that I ask you all to join us not in mourning his death but in celebrating this gentle young warrior’s life…

Austin Sean Fabian   18 December 1998 - 7 march 2015  Forever Sweet ^16^

Austin Sean Fabian 18 December 1998 – 7 march 2015 ~ Forever Sweet ^16^

Yes, we are sad… sad that the world has been robbed of such a gentle soul… sad that his smile will no longer be seen… sad for the heartache his Loved Ones are experiencing in this time of Loss…

But Austin would kick our butts if he found us moping around. 😉

So let us pay tribute to this most beautiful soul and the life that was his…

The easiest way I can see of doing that is by re-posting some of the posts on his FaceBook page over the last 5 months….

Austin was diagnosed with Stage 4 Ewing Sarcoma on 29 October 2014 and this was the post on his page on that day:

29 october 2014

Evening All
Before we start, myself, Ilse and Caitlin have a small request:
As we all know positivity is the main motivator for any person with any illness, and this turns people with illnesses from victims into fighting survivors. We respectfully request that everyone keep that in mind when they come and visit Austin or post comments, thank you.

We received Austin’s final prognosis, and he has Stage 4 Ewing Sarcoma, his survival rate is established at less than 10%. The doctors will be starting on Wednesday with very aggressive chemo therapy for 6 cycles with usually last 3 – 4 weeks a cycle.

He will be coming home on Friday for the weekend and we respectfully request no visitors for this weekend as he is still recovering from the infection.

We as a family have a definite statement regarding the statistics:

“Austin is not a number or statistic; neither will his legacy be overshone by cancer.

He is definitely the no. 1 contender and he is ready to fight.”

Austin and his family knew going into this fight that it was going to be a tough one, but they donned God’s Armour and took the bull by the horns, with grace and determination.

Austin with Dad

Austin with Dad

Yesterday, on the eve of saying Farewell to Austin, this was the post by his Dad, Sean

11 March 2014
Post by Austin’s dad Sean

Hey Austin,
How was today?
Just want to let you know, everything is organized for tomorrow.

Do you remember the day this nightmare started? The first thing you asked for after the operation when your eyes opened was “Is it going to rain?” Not the soft drizzly rain but Highveld thunderstorm rain. You always loved the rain, and every time you had to go into hospital it rained and every time you were discharged it rained. And tonight the clouds are packed…how it always calmed us down.

Listened to one of your messages today, you can always hear your smile while you’re speaking. The longing for you grows by the minute and when it gets too much, I walk to your room and go sit next to your bed, switch on your favorite shows and just listen to your quirky remarks. When Leeu gets restless he comes and fetch me, when I follow he walks to your room and waits until I open the door, walks in and go stand next to your bed. He waits until I pick up your blanket, then he lifts up his head and sniff it for a few second.

Today I got asked a difficult question, if I can define the promise we made that we are going to be OK. I don’t know right now, but is working on it I promise. The first step was to open the bible today and there was just one piece stuck in my head.

The bible verse for today was Rom 8:31-39

For the past few months we shared your sorrows with the world, and as from today we will be sharing your memories.

Memory 1
Your all-time favorite song
“If I die young” – The Band Perry

 

“If I Die Young”

If I die young, bury me in satin
Lay me down on a bed of roses
Sink me in a river at dawn
Send me away with the words of a love song

Uh oh, uh oh

Lord make me a rainbow, I’ll shine down on my mother
She’ll know I’m safe with you when she stands under my colors, oh,
And life ain’t always what you think it ought to be, no
Ain’t even grey, but she buries her baby

The sharp knife of a short life, oh well
I’ve had just enough time

If I die young, bury me in satin
Lay me down on a bed of roses
Sink me in the river at dawn
Send me away with the words of a love song

The sharp knife of a short life, oh well
I’ve had just enough time

And I’ll be wearing white, when I come into your kingdom
I’m as green as the ring on my little cold finger,
I’ve never known the lovin’ of a man
But it sure felt nice when he was holdin’ my hand,
There’s a boy here in town, says he’ll love me forever,
Who would have thought forever could be severed by…

…the sharp knife of a short life, oh well?
I’ve had just enough time

So put on your best, boys, and I’ll wear my pearls
What I never did is done

A penny for my thoughts, oh, no, I’ll sell ’em for a dollar
They’re worth so much more after I’m a goner
And maybe then you’ll hear the words I been singin’
Funny when you’re dead how people start listenin’

If I die young, bury me in satin
Lay me down on a bed of roses
Sink me in the river at dawn
Send me away with the words of a love song

Uh oh (uh, oh)
The ballad of a dove (uh, oh)
Go with peace and love
Gather up your tears, keep ’em in your pocket
Save ’em for a time when you’re really gonna need ’em, oh

The sharp knife of a short life, oh well
I’ve had just enough time

So put on your best, boys, and I’ll wear my pearls.

We as a family made a promise to Austin on Saturday, that we will miss him forever, but we will be OK. As his heart was so big and his love towards everyone even strangers, we decided to open the funeral to everyone who wants to join us in paying our last respect to our brave warrior, saying till we meet again but never goodbye.

bulls 2

Austin’s funeral will be held at

Kerk Sonder Mure (http://www.kerksondermure.org/) on the12th of March 2015 at 14h00.

The church is situated on the cnr of Hendrik Verwoerd Rylaan & Hippolaan, Zwartkop X4, Centurion, Gauteng.

(GPS coords: Latitude -25.859583927081818 Longitude 28.17754100000002).

Contact number for directions is +27 12 663 2003.

bulls divider

The day God took you Home

Austin’s Mom, Ilse wrote these words…

10 March

More Babyboy,
Ek wens vanoggend ek kon vir een keer net weer terug hoor “More Momsie”. Die huis is te still, ek sien hoe jy jou kama break dans voor my kamer deur doen.

My hande voel ydel hulle weet nie wat om te doen nie, ek het jou die laaste 5 maande versorg en nou skielik het hulle niks om te doen nie. Die stilte voel asof iemand my hart uit geruk het dit voel asof 1000de sonbesies in my kop sing die stilte is ondraaglik.

Ek het pyn orals in my lyf, pyn wat ek nie kan beskryf nie. Dit voel asof ek net wil ophou asem haal. Partykeer wens ek, dat ek kan ophou asem haal dan kan ek dalk saam met jou in Jesus se armes kom le. Maar ek weet sussa het ons nodig en ek het jou Saterdag belowe ons sal OK wees, hartseer, maar OK.

Ek kyk net kort kort in jou kamer net om seker te maak jy is nie dalk daar nie, ek proebeer slaap met die hoop as ek wakker word dat die laaste 5 maande net ‘n helse nagmerrie was.

Babyboy, momsie, popsie en sussa mis jou soos niemand ooit sal kan indink nie, ek wil net vir jou se jy was so so so geliefd en die laaste 5 maande het jy ‘n inpak gemaak op soveel mense. Ek verstaan nog nie hoekom die Here my geseen het met so ‘n fantastiese seun nie ek kan nie dink dat enige mens so prag kind kon verdien nie, maar ek verstaan ook nog nie hoekom hy jou aan my gegee het en jou weer van my af weg gevat het nie.

Jy was en is ‘n engel wat vir my gestuur is en ek bid dat ek jou nie lank van nou af nie ook in die hemel sal ontmoet en ek jou weer styf teen my bors kan vas hou.

Ek dank die Here vir die 16jaar wat hy ons saam gegee het. Maar ek vra ook hoekom hy jou deur die lyding laat gaan het net om jou te kom haal.

Austin and Mom @ Christmas

Austin and Mom @ Christmas

English Translation:

Morning Baby Boy,

This morning I wish that I could hear your  “Morning Momsy” just one more time. The house is too quiet and I can see you doing your pretend break-dance in front of my room door.

My hands feel idle they do not know what to do; I cared for you for the past 5 months and now suddenly they have nothing to do.

The silence feels as though someone has plucked my heart right out of my chest; it feels as though 1 000 cicadas are singing in my head, and the silence was unbearable. 

My whole body is paining, a pain that I cannot describe; it feels as though I just want to stop breathing. Sometimes I wish that I could just stop breathing, then maybe I could come and live with you in Jesus’ arms. But I know your sister needs us and I promised you that we will be OK…. heartbroken… but OK.

Every now and again I look into your bedroom, just to make sure that you are not there. I go to sleep with the hope that when I awaken I will find that the past 5 months were just a terrible nightmare.

Baby Boy… Mom, Dad and Sissie miss you like nobody could ever have imagined. I just want to tell you that you were so so so loved and you made such an impact on so many people over the last 5 months.

I still do not understand why God blessed me with such a fantastic son, and cannot think that any person could ever deserve such a treasure of a child, but I also do not understand how He could give you to us and then just take you away again.

You were and are an angel that was sent to me, and I pray that I will meet you again in Heaven in the not too distant future and will be able to hug you close to my heart.

I thank God for the sixteen years that He gave us together, but also question why He had to put you through all the pain and suffering just to come and fetch you again.

Austin loved his family, his dogs and his Blue Bulls… not necessarily in that order 😉

Just reading through the posts and comments makes one realise what a brave warrior this gentle soul was, and how much he was loved and respected by all who got to know him.

This post by Carmen Loureiro, Ambassador at Miss Earth South Africa, Dance Instructor at Manuela Loureiro Dance Academy and Ballet Teacher at Montessori Primary Bedfordview shows the great love and respect that this Brave Warrior inspired

 

 

Austin spent most of the past 5 months in and out of hospital, and we all followed his progress on the FaceBook Page set up for him.

Austin was in and out of Unitas Netcare Hospital, had a couple of blood transfusions, and chemotherapy treatments, had some good days and some not so good days, but always had a smile on his face.

He made some friends… other Little Fighters in the same hospital ward, and lost some… they are getting up to mischief together now…

When Austin had his hair shaved because it was falling out from the chemo, his Dad, some other family members and some friends had theirs shaved too. Dad didn’t want Mom to shave her hair, so she put Lavender streaks in it to represent all types of cancer.

 

One thing about Austin is that he had a great and compassionate heart and always put others before himself, as can be seen in these posts:

17 November 2014

Evening All,
Austin has been re-admitted in hospital after the nausea returned this afternoon with vomiting. On a later stage he started vomiting blood and he was rushed back to hospital. He is currently very weak and tired. His drip is back on and busy getting blood transfusion.

Unfortunately Austin developed Wilkie’s Syndrome, due to his massive weight loss this past few weeks.

Every day Austin and his sister Caitlin just takes my breath away…

Caitlin didn’t want to go to the hospital today because Austin is in isolation and she is not feeling well (afraid she could worsen his state).

Austin with his big heart (with all that has happened in the past 24hrs) told me to go home to be with his sister who is not feeling well today, to look after her. Because he has his mom with him.

 

25 November 2014

Evening All
Austin is doing much better, his rehabilitation progress is on track. He actually ate today. His gastroenterologist and oncology doctors said if he eats healthy and he does not get nausea by Friday, then they will cancel the operation.

So Austin and Ilse heard about another girl in Austin’s ward, who turned 16th today in hospital. So with clear instructions of what to get, they sent me and Caitlin to go get her a surprise.

I’m so blessed to have such caring hearts around me!!

His bible verse for today is Psalm 46:1 “
“God is our place of safety. He gives us strength. He is always there to help us in times of trouble.”

His quote for today is:
“Courage, above all things, is the first quality of a warrior.”

The road trips to and from the hospital were very tiring for Austin, but he kept on smiling through the pain and the physical and mental exhaustion, even when experiencing some setbacks like not being able to start his first chemo cycle on schedule…

When he was at home his dog “Leeu” lay next to him on the floor all the time and visitor’s had to ask Leeu’s permission to enter the room…

As previously mentioned, Austin loved the Blue Bulls, and was SO excited the day Reach For A Dream organised for him to witness the Blue Bulls captain’s practise. He got to meet his heroes, and also made sure that his sister met hers.

The guys all made a fuss of our Little Warrior and signed his prized possession ~ his Chariot!

27 February
#‎ReachForADream‬ ‪#‎BlueBullsRugby‬ ‪#‎BULvSHA

Evening All

Austin’s wellness is progressing slowly but surely. He had a fun fill day being treated by Reach for a dream to witness the Blue Bulls captain’s practise this afternoon. They pulled out all the bells and whistles and was given the grand tour through Loftus.

He was given the opportunity to see the players’ locker room and best of all meet his heroes and watch the #BULvSHA captains practice.

But Austin with his big heart made sure Caitlin met her favourite player Handre Pollard too!

But the excitement does not stop here, Austin is going to see the Rugby game tomorrow, and the players made him promised that he will be there to cheer them on to be there good luck charm for the game.

We would like to thank the following:
@ReachForADream – thank you for making one of Austin’s wishes come true, he is still smiling while sleeping.

@BlueBullsRugby – Thank you to Blue Bulls Rugby (Shanil, the blue bulls rugby team and training staff) for making this afternoon so special for Austin.

Austin’s bible verse for today was given by Pierre Spies this afternoon is Rom 8:31.
“What shall we then say to these things? If God be for us, who can be against us?”

Austin’s shout out goes to the blue bulls’ rugby team
“Go Bulls!!!”

Blue Bulls Birthday Cake

Blue Bulls Birthday Cake

 

We hope that this little insight into and Celebration of “The Life of Austin” has shown you just why this Brave Warrior was so Beloved by so many, and we ask you to keep his Mom Ilse, Dad Sean, Sister Caitlin and other Loved Ones in your hearts today as they take their leave of him… until they meet again…

Farewell, Austin, gone but never to be forgotten…. You will be missed!

We salute you, Brave and Gentle Warrior
Team LFCT

salute2B

 

(,)
_.-ﺜ-._
. . |. . . . |…
. . |. . . . |…
. . |. . . . |…
. . ღღ./.ღღ..
(`*•.¸(`*•.¸(`*•.¸«•ஐ• »¸.•*´)¸.•*´)¸.•*´)
•ஐ• «☆ Love, Light , & Strength ☆» •ஐ•
(,.•*´(¸.•*´ (¸.•*´ «•ஐ•» `*•.¸)`*•.,)`*•.,

About LFCT

This is a blog about CHILDHOOD CANCER and CHILDHOOD CANCER AWARENESS Little Fighters Cancer Trust is a non-profit organisation that offers support and aid to Children with Cancer and their families. When a child is diagnosed with cancer it affects the whole family. One of the parents, usually the mother, must give up their job to care for the child and this creates financial problems for the family. In South Africa especially the majority of these families are not well-to-do; many of them are rural. A diagnosis of cancer can wipe out any family’s finances, let alone a poor family. The costs of special medications, special diets, hospital stays, transport to and from the hospital or clinic and accommodation and food costs for the mother who spends most of the time at her child’s bedside are astronomical. These are the people and problems that fall through the cracks, and these are the people that Little Fighters Cancer Trust has pledged to help in any way possible. LFCT takes a holistic approach to assisting the Children with Cancer and their Families, with the main aim to be the preservation of individual dignity and pride. Little Fighters Cancer Trust also focuses on promotion and advocacy of National Childhood Cancer Awareness in an effort to increase awareness of Early Warning Signs of Childhood Cancer. This would result in earlier diagnosis, giving the Child with Cancer more of a chance at Treatment and Survival. See "About" for more Background info

Posted on 12 March, 2015, in Blog and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Please help us to Raise Childhood Cancer Awareness by Commenting and Sharing

