Running on Faith


The 186km Power Run route

The 186km Power Run route

I am not sure how many of you are aware of the fact that on June 15 and 16 a few hardy athletes ran the equivalent of 2 Comrades Marathons and a parkrun (5km distance)  plus a few kilometers more.

This was the PowerRun 2015 FB, a spiritual run about touching the whole community of Cape Town… organised by a group of Christians whose ideal is to stand for the rebuilding of all the communities of Cape Town and for fixing all the walls in our city. 

The run started at midnight at Powerhouse International Ministries Durbanville and the runners had to contend with gusting winds, pitch blackness and torrential rain. Those who managed to finish arrived back at  Powerhouse Durbanville around 3:30pm.

Anna running in the pitch dark night

Anna running in the pitch dark night

Of course our own little powerhouse, Dynamite Lady Anna Jooste was there to do her bit, but unfortunately had a bit of a problem part of the way through the course, but we will let her tell it in her own words…

One trains for an entire year to prepare for that “special” run as part of who you are. Throughout all the hours spent on the road or in the gym you realise more and more that this is “your” race. You decide that this one is going to be your goal for your running year, and because I am who I am, there is always a reason behind the reason why I want to and must do something.

In this case there was nothing more than GRATITUDE for the fact that I can do what I want and what I love doing. Gratitude for the fact that I am capable of doing what others may not be able to due to personal circumstances. This was therefore no exception to the rule; it was once again part of my mission to include Little Fighters Cancer Trust as well as to honour those closest to my heart, my beloveds.

And so the day of the race arrived and I stood at the starting-line, no doubt in my mind that I would make it as there was no other option. I just felt that I was absolutely ready, that my mind and my belief were in accord and ready to take on this long journey.

It was an unbelievable experience to take off running surrounded by the most wonderful people, taking on the pitch black night… everything went fantastically until around Khayelitsha… by the time we got there it was coming down in buckets, the wind was blowing up a storm and it was pitch-black… For a split-second the world burst into tiny  pieces… I stepped into a hole and the next thing I knew I was down; skinned knees and an excruciating pain in my ankle… then a feeling of nausea overcame me as I realised that my race was over.

The shock was so great that reality did not actually sink in until I was back home, where my thoughts ran riot and the realisation of what had just happened actually sunk in – I was injured… no disappointment, no bruised ego… just the realisation that I had actually just run quite a distance with the most wonderful people… and then remembering why I had decided to take on the race in the first place – gratitude for my health and the fact that I am alive!

What is life and who am I?????? I don’t know because I do not have the answers for things that happen to people when you are doing what you do out of love for those you love the most. What I did realise though is that I do not need to prove anything to anyone; that I will continue to do for others what I have always tried to do – I will race again… and will try to complete the journey again… but I will never again forget that I am only human, and as a human I am fallible. No matter how much I may scheme and plan, there is always a Higher Power in charge, and I accept whatever happens.

 All glory to my God, whom I worship, and I will always remain thankful for who and what I am.

Anna, you will always be our Hero and we take our hats off to you for everything that you mean to and do for all our Little Fighters – sorry about the skinned knees and sore ankle but we hope that you will be feeling better very soon and ready to take to the roads again doing what you love to do!

We salute you and send lots of loving get well wishes!

Team LFCT

Get Well photo CowAngelFeelBetterSoon11.gif

About LFCT

This is a blog about CHILDHOOD CANCER and CHILDHOOD CANCER AWARENESS Little Fighters Cancer Trust is a non-profit organisation that offers support and aid to Children with Cancer and their families. When a child is diagnosed with cancer it affects the whole family. One of the parents, usually the mother, must give up their job to care for the child and this creates financial problems for the family. In South Africa especially the majority of these families are not well-to-do; many of them are rural. A diagnosis of cancer can wipe out any family’s finances, let alone a poor family. The costs of special medications, special diets, hospital stays, transport to and from the hospital or clinic and accommodation and food costs for the mother who spends most of the time at her child’s bedside are astronomical. These are the people and problems that fall through the cracks, and these are the people that Little Fighters Cancer Trust has pledged to help in any way possible. LFCT takes a holistic approach to assisting the Children with Cancer and their Families, with the main aim to be the preservation of individual dignity and pride. Little Fighters Cancer Trust also focuses on promotion and advocacy of National Childhood Cancer Awareness in an effort to increase awareness of Early Warning Signs of Childhood Cancer. This would result in earlier diagnosis, giving the Child with Cancer more of a chance at Treatment and Survival. See "About" for more Background info

Posted on 17 June, 2015, in Anna Jooste, Blog and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Please help us to Raise Childhood Cancer Awareness by Commenting and Sharing

